Auxiliaries and Bookstore Resource Guide

Documentation of the processes developed for the deployment and sustainability of AL$ commercial programs. Information on Bookstore and Commercial Service contacts, State and Federal Legislation, Accessibility, and Vendor contact. (updated August 2020)

ACCESSIBILITY

AL$ Partners' VPATs

AL$ vendor partners have submitted a VPAT (voluntary product accessibility template) with Academic Technologies and have been reviewed by CSU Center for Accessible Media for compliance and proactive planning. They have submitted qualifications and parameters for provision on campuses and partnering with bookstores. Please help avoid double efforts and refer your campus Academic Technologies or Disabled Student Services departments to the following webpage: http://als.csuprojects.org/accessibility.

ACCOUNTING

As new pilots and programs are developed, tested, and/or deployed, generic accounting templates for campus bookstores and collaborating campus departments are compiled. For a copy of any generic accounting template, please contact the CSU bookstore liaison by email. Sehrhorn@calstate.edu

BOOKSTORES

A. Bookstore Advisory Team was established in 2012 with input invited from 23 campus bookstores. The committee meets once annually in person during the term and via phone/email as needed for reviews, recommendations, and other issues. It is comprised of bookstore directors, course materials managers, regional managers. The 2020-2021 committee includes: Cyndi Farrington, Rick Dorsey, Ryan Chiangi, Ben Compton, Brian Griffin, Robert Munck, Dana Hagge, and Brian Lacey. Qualifications include quick email response to questions, availability to attend annual meeting, and willingness to review and comment on programs.

B. Affordable Learning $olutions hosts an annual meeting for all bookstore directors, course materials managers, and regional managers annually and it is held in duplicate in two locations. The southern California meeting was March 6, 2020 at the Office of the Chancellor in Long Beach and the northern California meeting was March 9, 2020 at San Jose State University.

FACULTY
LEGISLATION

AB 960 Brough, Sales and use taxes: exemptions: textbooks.

SB 727 Galgiani, Instructional materials nnovative pricing.

SB 1359 Medina, Course materials.

AB 798 Bonilla, Textbook Affordability Act of 2015.

SB 1052 Steinberg, Open Education Resource Council.

SB 1053 Steinberg, Cool4ed California Digital Open Source Library

AB 317 Soloria, Textbook Affordability.

AB 1548 Solorio, College Textbook Transparency Act.

AB 2471 Lara, e-Textbooks Transparency and Fairness.

AB 2477 Liu, Production and pricing of college textbooks.

SB 48 Alquist, Electronic Alternative.

SB 216 Liu, Posted List of textbooks and prices. 

SB 386 Runner, Reducing prices, justification for new adoption.

SB 388 Calderon, Edition and Content.

SB 1328 DeLeon, Format and adoption search engine.

Sales Tax and Use Law, Unbundled Components

SB 850 Zero Degree Programs, California Community Colleges Related http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201320140SB850

MARKETING

Various marketing materials are available to download and reproduce from the AL$ websites. In addition, there is a set of exhibit materials including a medium-sized banner that bookstores may loan for their campus events. 

The AL$ webpage offers tools and resources to plan and market communications and events at: http://als.csuprojects.org/supporting_materials

For further assistance with marketing resources and to reserve the bookstore loan items, please email sehrhorn@calstate.edu

CONTACT LISTS

CSU Bookstore Directors:

The following list identifies the person with overall responsibility for the CSU campus bookstore.

Campus Contact E-Mail Address Phone
Bakersfield  Joseph Wooden 1250mgr@fheg.follett.com 661-654-2273
Channel Islands Kelsey Manning  0591mgr@follett.com 805-437-2668
Chico Lauren Lathrop llathrop@follett.com  530-898-4988
Dominguez Hills Rick Dorsey 0886mgr@follet.com 310-243-3828
East Bay Michelle Duarte 1106mgr@fheg.follett.com 510-885-2726
Fresno Katherine Whiteside kwhiteside@follett.com 559-278-4271
Fullerton Kim Ball kball@fullerton.edu 657-278-4968
Humboldt Chris Leach cleach@follett.com 707-826-5832
Long Beach Cyndi Farrington cyndi.farrington@csulb.edu 562-985-4003
Los Angeles Elaine Reed sm670@bncollege.com 323-343-5392
Maritime Academy Irene Tjorka itjorka@csum.edu 707-654-1186
Monterey Bay Terri Barbour tbarbour@follett.com 831-582-5266
Northridge Amy Berger aberger@fheg.follett.com 818-677-2932
Pomona Clint Aase craase@cpp.edu 909-869-3762
Sacramento Jamie Scobel jscobel@follett.com 916-278-6446
San Bernardino Rochelle Ervin 1100mgr@follett.com 909-537-7096
San Diego Kathy Brown kathy.brown@darth.sdsu.edu 619-594-7506
San Francisco Cameron Casey 1304mgr@follett.com 415-338-2023
San Jose Ryan Chiangi sm8011@bncollege.com 408-924-1831
San Luis Obispo Amie Mellinger amellinger@follett.com 805-756-5301
San Marcos Cara Michalk cmichalk@follett.com 760-750-4730
Sonoma Steve Higgenbotham sm499@bncollege.com 707-664-2329
Stanislaus Janelle Maiwald sm525@bncollege.com 209-667-3813

(Updated August 2020)

CSU Bookstore Course Materials Managers:

The following list identifies the person with responsibility for course materials.

Campus Contact E-Mail Address Phone
Bakersfield Richard Salcedo 1250txt@follett.com 661-654-2273
Channel Islands Kelsey Manning 0591txt@fheg.follett.com 805-482-5456
Chico Robert Bowman 1390txt@follett.com 530-898-6966
Dominguez Hills Angel Covarrubias 0886txt@follett.com 310-243-3102
East Bay Ryan Perez 1106txt@follett.com 510-885-3507
Fresno Eva Carmona ecarmona@mail.fresnostate.edu 559-278-4062
Fullerton Claude Damsa cdamsa@fullerton.edu 657-278-3418
Humboldt   1268txt@follett.com 707-826-5833
Long Beach Rochelle McCoy rochelle.mccoy@csulb.edu 562-985-7705
Los Angeles Gil Garibaldo TM670@bncollege.com 323-343-2500
Maritime Academy Andre Jimenez   707-654-1186
Monterey Bay Karina Alvarez 2029txt@follett.com 831-582-5262
Northridge Robert Munck 0150txt@fheg.follett.com 818-677-2932
Pomona Suzanne Donnelly smdonnelly@cpp.edu 909 869 3284
Sacramento Sabrina Pound 0037txt@follett.com 916-278-6446
San Bernardino Donna Zdep-Johnson 1100txt@fheg.follett.com 909-278-6446
San Diego Ben Compton ben.compton@darth.sdsu.edu 619-594-7543
San Francisco Edith Rodriguez 1304txt@fheg.folett.com 415-338-7377
San Jose Emma Mead TM8011@bncollege.com 408-924-1839
San Luis Obispo Deanna Carrol 2020txt@follett.com 805-756-1171
San Marcos Melanie LaCroix 1259txt@follett.com 760-750-4730
Sonoma Courtney Best TM499@bncollege.com 707-664-2329
Stanislaus   tm525@bncollege.com 209-667-3161

(Updated August 2020)

Auxiliary Commercial Shops Contacts:

The following list identifies the campus employee with overall responsibility for a foundation organization that oversees the bookstore, bookstore contract, and provision of course materials under contract to the campus.

Campus Contact E-Mail Address
Bakersfield Thomas Wallace vpsa@csub.edu
Channel Islands Laurie Nicholas laurie.nicholas@csuci.edu
Chico Jaime Clyde jcamaren@csuchico.edu
Dominguez Hills Richard Chester rchester@csudh.edu
East Bay Debbie Chaw Debbie.chaw@csueb.edu
Fresno Debbie Astone debbiea@csufresno.edu
Fullerton Chuck Kissel ckissel@fullerton.edu
Humboldt Dave Nakamura dave.nakamura@humboldt.edu
Long Beach Robert deWit Robert.dewit@csulb.edu
Los Angeles Jose Gomez jose.gomez@calstatela.edu
Maritime Academy Mark Goodrich mgoodrich@csum.edu
Monterey Bay Kevin Saunders kesunders@csum.edu
Northridge Rick Evans rick.evans@csun.edu
Pomona David Prenovost dfprenovost@cpp.edu
Sacramento Jim Reinhart jim.reinhart@csus.edu
San Bernardino John Griffin john.griffin@csusb.edu
San Diego Todd Summer todd.summer@sdsu.edu
San Francisco Jason Porth jporth@sfsu.edu
San Jose Raymond Luu Raymond.luu@sjsu.edu
San Luis Obispo Lorli Leetham lleetham@calpoly.edu
San Marcos Bella Newberg Newberg@csusm.edu
Sonoma Neil Markley neil.markley@sonoma.edu
Stanislaus Michael Wojciechowski mwojciechowski@csustan.edu

BOOKSTORE WEBSITE

CSU INTERACTIVE OPEN TEXTBOOKS

California State University Academic Technologies partnered with Vital Source and developed vibrant interactive versions of Open Stax titles for faculty consideration and adoption. The goal is a more effective (than pdf format) resource at a very low cost designed to result in improved learning experiences and outcomes.

Open Stax is an initiative at Rice University that has created peer-reviewed open (free) textbooks in digital format. Aimed to compete with major publishers’ offerings, content is licensed under Creative Commons Attributions licenses and can be modified to suit different purposes by users.

Student benefits include highlighting and reviewing text easily; sharing notes with peers; end of chapter embedded quizzes; easy mobile device access; direct LMS links; interactive embedded vocabulary: pa complete accessibility for users with disabilities; standardized e-reader; vibrant versus static pdf format.

Faculty benefits include viewing student interaction via an instructor dashboard; monitoring student progress throughout the materials; identifying students who may be falling behind; learning what content students find most relevant or most challenging; reviewing when students are readings and on what devices; monitoring assigned readings and learning who read before class; direct integration/linking into the LMS; improved student comprehension of content.

Prepared PowerPoint demonstrations and other support resources are available to stores by contacting the Auxiliary Bookstore Liaison at sehrhorn@calstate.edu

PRESENTATIONS

The presentations by Affordable Learning $olutions regarding Campus Store support, participation, programs and successes are available on request. Please contact the Auxiliary and Bookstore Liaison at sehrhorn@calstate.edu for these resources. Presentation venues include Auxiliary Organization Association conferences; Affordable Learning $olutions conferences, workshops, and visits; National Association of College Stores events; Bookstore Advisory Team meetings; Annual Bookstore meetings; and CSU on-site campus events.

AL$ WEB PAGE LINKS

WEBINARS

NEWS ARTICLES

VENDOR PARTNER PROGRAMS

  • Course Materials Program
  • Custom Publishing Program

LIBRARY RESOURCES

AL$ CAMPUS SHOWCASES

STORE MEETING ARCHIVES

RESOURCES

AL$ maintains resources for bookstores to participate in all AL$ programs and CSU/legal directives. Many may be accessed via the web. For assistance, contact the AL$ bookstore liaison at sehrhorn@calstate.edu

Auxiliary policy, Title 5

Course Fees Executive order 1102

Budget Office accountability 1102 

Non General Funds Executive Order 919

Higher Education Opportunity Act

HEOA FAQs

CSU IMMEDIATE ACCESS

This is a joint program in which students for a class have access at NO CHARGE to their course materials in digital format on the first day of class and retain access until the add/drop date deadline at no cost. At or prior to the add/drop date, the student will have the option to ‘opt-out’ electronically and discontinue access to the materials. Students who choose to continue will be charged for the materials and access continues.

CSU Affordable Learning $olutions Immediate Access Programs are available via all campus bookstores and can be delivered through various software applications within the stores’ systems.

The opportunity to have access to materials on the first day of classes without having to pay for them is critically important to students who can only pay for their needs incrementally. The ability to actually use the product without cost and self-determine preferences in format is unique. While not a restrictive mandated ‘fee’, the opt-out program still affords the publishers potential of improved sales and thus their willingness to offer significantly lower costs to students.

All of these improvements are extremely valuable to students and instrumental in students’ success which are basics of the Affordable Learning $olutions goals.

AL$ COURSE FEE SUGGESTIONS

Course fees are mandatory fees for content or materials that students are required to have and use in a class and are charged at registration along with registration fee and are collected per policy. The use of course fee material is determined by academic departments/faculty. Course materials fees are described via Executive Order as Category III Fees: “Fees associated with state-supported courses specifically for materials and services used in concert with the basic foundation an academic course offering.”

Category III Course Fees must be submitted for approval on a campus-specific form from the department chair and the dean to the campus COURSE FEE COMMITTEE. The committees have different names on campuses but are generically referred as Course Fee Approval Committees. 

AL$ has developed ‘Five Easy Steps’ for faculty/departments to obtain course fee approval in collaboration with the campus store. Planning ahead is critical as the process has been noted take up to six months before start of classes. The campus store is in a position to assist faculty with pricing negotiations, delivery options, alternative formats, and determination of potential student savings.

Easy “Five Steps” to Obtain Approval for Course Fees:

 

1.    Select materials you wish students to have

2.    Contact publisher/provider rep and request best CSU pricing

3.    Complete the CSU AL$ standardized form

4.    Attach to your campus’ course fee approval request form

5.    Submit to your department office for chairperson’s approval and submission to the provost